Welcome!

"Readings in Lesbian & Bisexual Women's Fiction" (ReadingsLAB) is an internet radio program hosted through the Blog Talk Radio service, interviewing authors, and talking about books with lesbian and bisexual women's themes and content. Genres cover the spectrum, from the broad "literary" novel to heated erotica and erotic romances.

Every author of such fiction is welcome to talk about her books and her writing on the program. Just contact me to schedule an interview.

Archives are available through iTunes here.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Join me tomorrow and all weekend


Hello everyone! I hope you are having a wonderful June.

No, this is not an announcement of the rebirth of Readings LAB. There are many wonderful lesfic and women-writer interview programs now, such as Woman-Stirred Radio and Cocktail Hour, that I don't think I need to wade back into audio land at the moment.

However, I hope you will find it good news that you will be able to get into a topical discussion with me in another venue.

Join me tomorrow, June 14, and all weekend through June 17, for a discussion of lesbian motherhood in fiction on the Virtual Living Room group. Here's the official details:
Spot-On: Lesbian Moms in Lesbian Fiction aka cute kids, June 14-17

There are a quite a few lesbian novels which feature Lesbian Moms / cute kids. We want to chat about it and the following authors will be joining us at the virtual living room: Karin Kallmaker, Lara Zielinsky, Sunny Alexander, Melissa Brayden, Joann Lee, Barbara Winkes, Clare Ashton, PJ Treblehorn

Join us at: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Virtuallivingroom/
(you have to join the group to participate - it's free and painless, and the rest of the time the group discusses lesfic anyway, so... what are you waiting for?)

Hosted by BeniGee, Henrietta, Lara Zielinsky
I don't know about the other authors yet, but lucky participants will be randomly selected to win their choice of one of my ebooks throughout the weekend if you make a post to the discussion. This offer includes my contemporary novels Turning Point or Turn for Home, or my shapeshifter novella Skylar's Pride. I am also offering a single e-copy of anthologies with my stories in them: any of the To Love and To Cherish volumes (there are 3), or the anthology I Kissed A Girl 2.

~ LZ

Saturday, July 21, 2012

LAB links July 21


Here's all the book and author news from around the 'net for listeners of "Readings LAB" radio


Don't miss today's show guest: JE Knowles, author of the Lammy finalist (2010) Arusha and the forthcoming Trees in the Field (August 2011). ~ LZ

Author Interviews & Blogs


  • The Virtual Living Room is beginning a new events on the weekends, "Spot On" will feature interactive opportunities to discuss books with one or more authors in their email group. The series begins with a discussion of Survived By Her Longtime Companion (Chris Paynter) the weekend of August 3-6 and Q Kelly discusses her many writings the weekend of August 17-20. You have to join the email group to participate. The VLR is a great group of women interested in kicking back and discussing lesbian fiction. Join the conversation.
  • Clare Ashton, author of Pennance, blogged at The Henderson Files on Seasonal Writing.
  • This is not written literature, but it is a great article on the power of words. Queer Poetry takes the spotlight in Jade Foster's review of The Revival, a salon-styled tour of queer women spoken-word artists.
  • FlavorWire posted a list of the greatest women sci-fi/fantasy authors of all time in honor of Octavia Butler's birthday.
  • Author Jae blogs on 15 ways to find a beta or critique partner.


Book Releases




Book Reviews




In other LGBTQ news...


  • Episcopal Church passes resolution authorizing blessing of same-gender relationships, as reported by the BBC.
  • Lesbian Super PAC (political action committee) established.
  • CAMP Rehoboth is seeking sponsors for its Sundance Festival. Sundance is a two-night event at the Rehoboth Beach Convention Center Labor Day Weekend. It attracts nearly 1,000 participants and is heavily promoted during the height of the tourist season through posters, which list the names of the sponsors.  Details on support levels and benefits.
  • Plunge Magazine is now open for submissions. The first issue's theme is "Queer Women in Mythology." Plunge accepts short fiction, short nonfiction, and poetry. The submission window will end the first week of November. The first issue will go up February 2013. Submission Guidelines are on the website.


~ LZ

Saturday, July 14, 2012

Events Calendar July 14

Live / In-Person Fan & Author Events Calendar

Fans of Rizzoli & Isles rejoice. The inaugural RizzlesCon 2012 event has been scheduled for July 20 through July 22 at the Clarion Hotel, Anaheim, CA. For more information visit: http://www.rizzlescon.net

July 25, 5-8 pm, Radclyffe and Kim Baldwin will be among those autographing books at the RWA 2012 “Readers for Life” Literacy Autographing session in Anaheim at the Convention Center next to the Anaheim Marriott. http://www.rwa.org/cs/literacy_autographing

September 14th - 16th 2012 will see the third annual UK Meet for readers/writers/reviewers/fans of GLBTQ fiction. There will be a full day of programmed events on Saturday the 15th, plus optional social events on Friday evening and Sunday morning. Convention site is the elegant Mercure Brighton Seafront hotel. For full programme see http://ukglbtfictionmeet.co.uk/ukmeet2012details/

The 2012 South Georgia Pride festival will be held September 15, 2012 from 12pm-6pm in Valdosta, GA. This year the theme is  “Serving with Pride” to honor our LGBT Veterans, servicemen and women. Visit: http://www.southgapride.org/ for more information. Booksellers, authors, and other vendors should contact Raynae Williams.

Golden Crown Literary Society is coordinating a co-op of indie author readings and a fan meet and greet in Provincetown during Women's Week. They've booked The Sage Inn, 336 Commercial St (formerly Vixens) on October 12th from 11am to 3pm. There are still reading slots open. Contact Mary Lou Heintz  who is organizing all the details.

That's all for this show. If you have an event you'd like me to share, send the info to me at lzielinsky08@gmail.com or invite Readings Host to your event on Facebook.  You have been listening to "Readings in Lesbian & Bisexual Women's Fiction." Archived interviews are always available from http://blogtalkradio.com/readingslab Have a great weekend!

Sunday, July 8, 2012

news and links for week of July 8


Lots of great things to check out. See you Monday! ~ LZ

GCLS Conference

Golden Crown Literary Society has posted photos of the GCLS 2012 conference in Minneapolis to its Facebook page. and author Melissa Brayden blogged about her conference experience here.

Book Reviews

  • Book review of short story collection Pool-Hopping (Anne Fleming).
  • Carleen Spry posted a review of Roller Coaster (Karin Kallmaker), Open Water (Pol Robinson), and Rhapsody (KG MacGregor).
  • Baxter Trautman recommended Afterimage (Helen Humphreys).
  • Terry's Lesfic Reviews updated with one big review and six mini-reviews: Castle of the Dark Shadows (Patty Henderson), Veiled Conspiracy (Michelle Coffman), Trust Our Tomorrows (Carrie Carr), The Secret of St Claire (Robin Alexander), The Quality of Blue (Nat Burns), Hearts            Resolve (Carrie Carr), Identity (Nat Burns), LoveLife (Rachel Spangler), and Touch Me Gently (D Jackson Leigh).
  • Piercing Fiction posted several new reviews: On the Air (Geonn Cannon), Agape (Maytee Aspuro y Gonzalez), Wind and Bones (Kristin Marra), Appointment with a Smile (Kieran York), and Scapegoat (Amy Dawson Robertson).
  • Book review for OMG Queer - stories from LGBTQI youth.
  • Lesbrary's Casey reviewed The Miseducation of Cameron Post (Emily Danforth) and Danika reviews When We Were Outlaws (Jeanne Cordova).
  • Q Kelly reviews The Lifeboat (Charlotte Rogan).
  • Read a great LGBTQ book you would highly recommend? Best reader review sent in by July 18 will go on the front page of Pink Pen.
  • Review of Huntress (Malindo Lo).
  • Missed this the first time it was released, but check out this list of fabulous and fearless true LGBT stories.

Book Releases


Publisher news and newsletters:

Interviews and blogs:

LGBT News


And finally, some advice for the writers struggling to touch the page, "The Ultimate Guide to Writing Better Than You Normally Do"

~ LZ
Next "Readings in Lesbian & Bisexual Women's Fiction" interview: Monday, July 9 at 6 pm EDT, author HT Phair.